Berlin workshop aims to improve process of assessing climate change research

On 18-20 February, 2015, twenty-four experts gathered in Berlin to explore approaches to improving the process by which research on climate change is assessed—with a focus on the social-sciences (economics, political science, policy studies). Participants discussed potential reforms in the assessments of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and also the development of assessment processes complementary to the IPCC.

The workshop was sponsored by Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei (FEEM; Italy), the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC; Germany), the Harvard Project on Climate Agreements (USA), and the Stanford Environmental and Energy Policy Analysis Center (SEEPAC; USA). MCC hosted the workshop in Berlin.

Participants included social scientists who contributed to the IPCC’s Fifth Assessment Report, users of IPCC reports (from national governments and intergovernmental organizations), and representatives of other stakeholder groups. They were based in both developed and developing countries.

Leaders of three of the sponsoring organizations, including Stanford’s Prof. Charles Kolstad, have prepared a memorandum drawing from the discussions at the workshop. The memo describes specific challenges and opportunities facing the IPCC and provides recommendations for improving the IPCC’s process of assessing scientific research on climate change.

The authors of the memo are: Carlo Carraro, Climate Change and Sustainable Development Programme Coordinator, FEEM; Charles Kolstad, Senior Fellow and Professor of Economics, Stanford University; and Robert Stavins, Albert Pratt Professor of Business and Government, Harvard Kennedy School. (The memo represents the views of these authors alone and not necessarily the organizations with which they are affiliated—or of the other workshop participants.)

Further information: Prof. Charles D. Kolstad (Tel 650.721.1663; Email:

Publicación: Viernes, 23 de Octubre del 2015.